Carol, Robert Bush earn Honorary Friends of Nursing award


GREEN BAY — Community volunteers Carol and Robert Bush were recently selected to receive the Wisconsin Nurses Association’s 2008 Honorary Friends of Nursing Award.

The award honors those who have rendered distinguished service or valuable assistance to the nursing profession. The couple will be honored during a Friday, Oct. 17, WNA 2008 Awards Recognition Dinner ceremony at the Plaza Hotel and Suites Conference Center in Eau Claire.

The Bushes deserve the recognition, said Colleen O’Brien, Bellin Health Quality Resource Center.

“The Bushes have shown a long, strong commitment to the health care of the community, due in part to their positive personal experiences with nursing and health care,” O’Brien explained. “A recent example is the fact that they donated funds to build a 30-bed orthopedic and neurological unit at Bellin. It’s a supportive gesture on their part.”

Such gestures are examples of how the Bushes have strongly supported the local nursing profession over the years, said Laura Hieb, Bellin’s chief nursing officer.

“They are actively engaged in ensuring that top-notch nurses are available in our community well into the future,” she said. “In 2000, the Bushes created an award that is given to the Bellin Health nursing employee that best exemplifies the characteristics we view as essential in the caregiving profession.”

Hieb said the Bushes efforts as champions of nursing have spanned from publicly recognizing practicing nurses to encouraging students to join the nursing profession.

“Their support of the local nursing profession is invaluable,” Hieb said.

Robert Bush, former chairman of Bellin Memorial Hospital and past director of the Bellin Foundation, is chairman emeritus of Schreiber Foods, Inc. and director emeritus of the Green Bay Packers Board of Directors.

Carol Bush is the recipient of many community and volunteer awards, including among others: The St. Norbert College President’s Medal; United Way De Tocqueville Award; University of Wisconsin Award of Distinction; University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Chancellor’s Medal; and the WPS Golden Rule Award.